DROI minutes 31.8.2009

Meeting of 31 August 2009, from 15.00 to 18.30,
and 1 September 2009, from 09.00 to 12.30
The meeting opened at 15.05 on Monday 31 August 2009, with Heidi Hautala (Chair) in the chair.1. Adoption of agenda DROI_OJ 427.266v01-00
The agenda was adopted

2. Election of the fourth vice-chair
Item postponed
3. Approval of minutes of the meeting of:
20 July 2009 PE 427.170v01-00
The minutes were approved.
4. Chair’s announcements
– Burma: Chair’s press statement on Daw Aung San Suu Kyi
– Russia: President’s press conference on the killing of Natalia Estemirova
– Afghanistan: Point to be dealt with in the next Subcommittee meeting
– Sakharov 2009: presentation of candidatures deadline: 12 September

5. Exchanges of views with Swedish Presidency on its Programme in the field of democracy and Human Rights
– Elinor HAMMARSKJÖLD, Chair of COHOM (Council Working Group on Human Rights), Head of Department, Department for International Law, Human Rights and Treaty Law, Ministry for Foreign Affairs (Sweden);

– Veronique ARNAULT, Director at the European Commission for Multilateral Relations and Human Rights (DG RELEX);

– Riina KIONKA, Council Secretariat, Personal Representative of the Secretary-General/High Representative on Human Rights

Speakers: Elinor Hammarskjöld (Chair of COHOM), Raimon Obiols, Sarah Ludford, Barbara Lochbihler, Charles Tannock, Veronique Arnault (European Commission), Nicole Sinclaire, Richard Howitt, Charles Goerens, Vittorio Prodi, Nirj Deva, Riina Kionka (Council Secretariat), the Chair
6. Exchange of views with the Human Rights and Democracy Network (NGOs)
Speakers: Nicolas Rougy (Director, Club of Rome), Grégoire Thiery (FIDH), Lina Alqurah (Euro-Mediterranean Human Rights Network), Veronika Szente-Goldston (Human Rights Watch), Lars Boschmann (CBM, Christian Blind Mission), the Chair
7. Human Rights mainstreaming in EU’s external relations – presentation of a study commissioned by the Subcommittee on Human Rights
Speakers: Florence Benoît-Rohmer (Secretary-General of EIUC in Venice), Professor Horst Fischer (President of EIUC), Veronique Arnault (European Commission), Grégoire Thiery (FIDH), Raimon Obiols, Barbara Lochbihler, Richard Howitt, the Chair
The meeting closed at 18.32
1 September 2009, 09.00 – 11.30
The meeting resumed at 09.08 on Tuesday, 1 September 2009, with Heidi Hautala (Chair) in the chair
8. Follow up to plenary debate on China
Speakers: Rebiya Kadeer (President, World Uyghur Congress), Bastiaan Belder, László Tőkés, Nirj Deva, Barbara Lochbihler, Laima Liucija Andrikienė, Eduard Kukan, Charles Tannock, Sarah Ludford, the Chair

9. Follow up to plenary debate on Iran
Speakers: Nasser Zarafshan (Human rights activist) – phone conference from Iran -, Barbara Lochbihler, Nirj Deva, Charles Tannock, Reza Allgmehzadeh (film director), Azar Al-Kanan, Dominique Porter (European Commission), the Chair

10. Date of next meeting
• Thursday 10 September 2009, 09.00 – 12.30 (Brussels)

The meeting closed at 11.20
* * *
1 September 2009, 11.30 – 12.30

11. Enlarged Bureau Meeting (in camera)